Gluten Free Diet: All you Need to Know

A gluten free diet is a food or group of food that does not contain gluten. Many people who go on a gluten free diet avoid eating carbohydrates as most of the gluten food may also contain carbohydrates.

What is Gluten

Gluten is a group of protein that is natural in certain food. Despite the fact that it is natural in certain food, it can also be added to food as a binding agent, for texture, moisture and flavoring. Lots of food may contain gluten so it is important to check ingredients of food carefully before consuming if you choose to go on a gluten free diet.

Who needs to eat more of a Gluten Free Diet

1. Anyone who is allergic to wheat

Wheat is an example of a food that contains gluten. Anyone who is allergic to wheat may experience some symptoms like headache, sneezing, skin raises when they consume it. So, it is important for them to avoid eating food that contains gluten but should go for gluten free diet.

2. Anyone with a celiac disease

Celiac disease is an autoimmune response to gluten which makes the body to attack the small intestine leading to some symptoms like; stomach ache, diarrhea, nausea etc. Anyone with celiac disease should avoid gluten by all possible means. A gluten free diet is the best option for such a person.

3. Anyone who is sensitive to gluten

This could also be called gluten intolerance. Most people eat food that contains gluten and do not feel so good. They may feel irritated, they may have a stomach pain, constipation or even fatigue. Their body doesn’t just seem to tolerate gluten. This set of people needs to avoid any food that contains and stick to a gluten free diet.

Foods you can eat when you are on a Gluten Free Diet

1. Protein

Haven said that gluten is a protein, there are still some protein that are gluten free.

Proteins that are gluten free includes;

  • Poultry: fresh chicken, turkey etc.
  • Red meat: fresh beef, bison, pork etc.
  • Sea food: fresh fish, shell fish etc.
  • Legumes; beans, peanuts, peas etc.
  • Nuts

Proteins that contains gluten includes;

  • Seltan
  • Breaded poultry, red meat or fish.
  • Wheat

2. Fruits and Vegetables

Processed fruits and vegetables may contain gluten. If you want to have a gluten free, it is first important to look out for fresh and not processed fruits and vegetables.

Fruits and vegetables that are gluten free includes;

  • Apples
  • Oranges
  • Bananas
  • Pears
  • Berries
  • Carrots
  • Greens
  • Bell peppers
  • Onions
  • Mushrooms
  • Green beans

Fruits and vegetables that may contain gluten includes;

  • Frozen fruits and vegetables
  • Canned fruits and vegetables
  • Dried fruits and vegetables

3. Dairy Products

Dairy products are mostly gluten free except some gluten containers ingredients have been added to it.

Dairy products that are gluten free includes;

  • Milk
  • Yoghurt
  • Cream
  • Cheese
  • Butter

Dairy products that may contain gluten includes;

  • Ice cream
  • Processed cheese products
  • Flavored milk,  yoghurt or cream

4. Whole Grains

It could be really difficult to know which grain contains gluten and which is gluten free. Some gluten free whole grain can be contaminated with glutens when processed.

Whole grains the are gluten free includes;

  • Millet
  • Oat
  • Sorghum
  • Brown rice
  • Buck wheat
  • Tapioca

Whole grain that contains gluten includes;

  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Wheat

5. Beverage

Some beverages are mixed with gluten containing ingredients and should be avoided by people on a gluten free diet. Notwithstanding, there are still some gluten free beverages.

Beverages that are gluten free  included;

  • Tea
  • Coffee
  • Soda
  • Lemonade

Beverages that may contains gluten includes;

  • Cocktails
  • Smoothies
  • Flavored beverages

Drinks that are Gluten Free

Despite the large amount of drink with gluten contents, there are still drinks which are gluten free. They includes;

  • Pure water
  • Fruit juice
  • Soda
  • Cider
  • Spirits
  • Sherry
  • Wine

Does Gluten Free Diet Help in Weight Loss

Gluten free diet does not directly help in weight loss. When you are on a gluten free diet, you tend to avoid some processed and flavored food. This processed and flavored food definitely contain carbohydrates which causes weight gain. So, as you avoid this food, you avoid carbohydrates thereby loosing weight.

Disadvantages of a Gluten Free Diet

It is often said that whatever has an advantage also has a disadvantage and gluten free diet is not an exception. Some disadvantages includes;

1. You tend to miss out some micro nutrients.

2. You put your cholesterol level at risk.

3. You miss out important vitamins and minerals needed by your body.


If you choose to avoid gluten for a gluten free diet, there are lots of healthy options to choose from. To achieve a successful gluten free diet, it is important to check ingredients labels of whatever you want to eat as gluten could be added to the food.

If you take it at the right proportion and quantity, you would not have a problem with gluten free diet. However, it is also necessary to seek advise from your Doctor or dietitian before going on a gluten free diet.